Back to Blog School Guides

IB vs IGCSE Schools in Singapore: Which Curriculum, Which Schools

By Published Updated 4 min read
IB vs IGCSE Schools in Singapore: Which Curriculum, Which Schools

Quick Answer: Most Singapore international schools run one of three pathways: the full IB continuum, IGCSE at 16 then the IB Diploma, or IGCSE then A Levels. Here is what each means for your child, which schools run which, and how they performed in 2026.

In Singapore the question is rarely "IB or IGCSE" as a straight choice. Cambridge IGCSE is a set of subject exams taken at 16; the IB Diploma is a two-year programme taken at 16 to 18; and most of the city's international schools run IGCSE and then the IB Diploma, with A Levels as the alternative at a few. The decision that matters is the shape of the whole school: a full IB continuum school (Primary Years, Middle Years, Diploma) or a British-style school (national curriculum, IGCSE, then IB or A Levels). This guide sets out the difference, lists which Singapore schools run which pathway, and gives the May 2026 IB results. The general comparison of the two systems is in our Cambridge vs IB guide.

What is the difference between the IB and IGCSE pathways?

StageIB continuum schoolBritish-style school
Ages 3 to 11IB Primary Years Programme: transdisciplinary units of inquiry, no external examsEnglish National Curriculum or Cambridge Primary: subject-based, with optional Cambridge checkpoints
Ages 11 to 16IB Middle Years Programme: eight subject groups, a personal project, optional eAssessment at 16Key Stage 3 then Cambridge or Edexcel IGCSE: eight to ten subjects examined externally at 16
Ages 16 to 18IB Diploma: six subjects, Extended Essay, Theory of Knowledge, CAS, scored out of 45IB Diploma or A Levels (three or four subjects, graded A* to E); a few schools offer both
Exams before 18None external until the Diploma (MYP eAssessment is optional)IGCSE at 16 gives a formal qualification before the final two years
Best forFamilies who value inquiry-based learning and continuity, and may move between IB schools abroadFamilies who want a recognised qualification at 16, subject depth, and the option of A Levels

The IGCSE at 16 is the practical advantage of the British route: a transcript of graded subjects that travels if the family relocates, and a natural point to switch to the IB Diploma or A Levels. The continuum's advantage is coherence: one philosophy from 3 to 18 and no exam year at 16.

Which Singapore schools run which pathway?

PathwaySchoolsTuition at 16 to 18 (S$, 2026/27)
IB continuum (PYP, MYP, Diploma)UWCSEA, Canadian International School, XCL World Academy, GESS (international section), Stamford American (with AP)43,990 (GESS) to 56,110 (Stamford)
IGCSE then IB DiplomaDulwich, Dover Court, Nexus, SJI International, Australian International School (or HSC), GIIS20,655 (GIIS) to 59,220 (Dulwich)
IGCSE then IB Diploma or A LevelsTanglin Trust, One World International School33,168 (One World) to 58,080 (Tanglin)
IGCSE then A LevelsNorth London Collegiate School runs the IB Diploma; Brighton College Singapore follows the British route; check each school's sixth-form offer for the current yearOn application
Cambridge to IGCSEMiddleton, Invictus21,760 to 28,658 (Middleton); 21,840 to 27,940 (Invictus)
American (AP), no IBSingapore American School43,780 plus facility fee

Pathways change: schools add A Levels or drop them, and some now offer the IB Career-related Programme. Confirm the sixth-form offer with the school for the year your child would enter it. Fee sources are listed in our Singapore fees guide.

How did the IB schools perform in 2026?

From the May 2026 results compiled by WhichSchoolAdvisor (Singapore average 35.67, 2,250 candidates; world average 30.88):

SchoolAverage (May 2026)CohortPass rate
Tanglin Trust School39.1not reported100%
North London Collegiate School (Singapore)38.3555100%
GIIS SMART Campus38not reportednot reported
NPS International School38100not reported
Dulwich College (Singapore)37.714599.3%
UWCSEA (Dover and East)36.364298.9%
Overseas Family School36not reportednot reported
Nexus International School35.7not reported98%
GESS35.664100%
Dover Court3562100%
One World International School (Nanyang)3542not reported
Canadian International School35not reportednot reported
Australian International School34.945not reported
Stamford American34.8not reported100%
XCL World Academy343897%

SJI International, which runs January to December and sits the Diploma in November, averaged 38 points across 195 candidates in November 2025. Cohort size matters when reading this table: a 642-student average and a 38-student average are different things, and every school here is well above the world average.

Which pathway suits your child?

  • Likely to move again before 16: either works, but IGCSE-track schools hand you a portable transcript at 16 and IB continuum schools connect to 6,200 IB schools worldwide. Avoid switching between the two systems in Years 9 to 11.
  • Strong in a few subjects, weaker in others: the IGCSE then A Level route lets your child specialise at 16. In Singapore that means Tanglin or One World, or a British school abroad.
  • All-rounder who dislikes high-stakes exams: the IB continuum, with no external exams until 18 and coursework in every Diploma subject.
  • Aiming at a specific university system: UK courses publish requirements for both A Levels and the IB; US universities take AP or IB; Australian universities convert both. Check the course page, not the school brochure.
  • Budget-led: the IB Diploma is available from S$20,655 (GIIS) and S$33,168 (One World); IGCSE from S$21,760 (Middleton). See the affordable schools guide.

Filter the directory by curriculum to shortlist: IB schools, Cambridge schools, or the full Singapore list.

Frequently asked questions

Is IGCSE or IB better in Singapore?
They are not alternatives at the same age. IGCSE is a set of subject exams at 16; the IB Diploma is a two-year programme at 16 to 18. Many Singapore schools run IGCSE and then the IB Diploma, so the real choice is between the IB Diploma and A Levels at 16, and between an IB continuum school and a British-style school before that.
Which Singapore schools offer the IB Diploma?
Among schools that reported May 2026 results: Tanglin Trust, North London Collegiate, GIIS SMART Campus, NPS International, Dulwich, UWCSEA, Overseas Family School, Nexus, GESS, Dover Court, One World, Canadian International School, Australian International School, Stamford American and XCL World Academy. SJI International sits the Diploma in November. Singapore American School offers AP rather than the IB.
Which Singapore schools offer Cambridge IGCSE?
The British-style schools (Tanglin, Dulwich, Dover Court, North London Collegiate, Brighton College), SJI International, Australian International School, Nexus, One World, Middleton, Invictus and GIIS all run IGCSE at Years 10 to 11. The IB continuum schools (UWCSEA, CIS, XCL, GESS international section, Stamford) use the IB Middle Years Programme instead.
Can my child do IGCSE and then the IB Diploma?
Yes, and it is the most common route in Singapore: Tanglin, Dulwich, Dover Court, Nexus, SJI International, One World, Australian International School and GIIS all take students from IGCSE into the Diploma. Tanglin and One World also offer A Levels as the alternative at 16.
How did Singapore IB schools score in 2026?
The May 2026 Singapore average was 35.67 points from 2,250 candidates, against a world average of 30.88. Tanglin Trust averaged 39.1, North London Collegiate 38.35, GIIS SMART Campus and NPS 38, Dulwich 37.7, UWCSEA 36.3, Nexus 35.7, GESS 35.6, Dover Court, One World and CIS 35, AIS 34.9, Stamford 34.8, XCL 34.
Does the choice affect fees?
Less than the school does. The IB Diploma is offered at S$33,168 a year at One World Nanyang and at S$59,220 at Dulwich; IGCSE is taught at S$21,760 at Middleton and at S$56,010 at Tanglin. Budget for exam fees in the final year either way: about S$188 per IGCSE subject and S$228 per IB subject at SJI International, or S$1,000 to S$3,000 in total by AIS's estimate.
Share this article
Find Schools

Related Articles

Schools in Pakistan Explained: Matric, O and A Level, Cambridge, and the Top Schools in Karachi, Lahore and Islamabad

Schools in Pakistan Explained: Matric, O and A Level, Cambridge, and the Top Schools in Karachi, Lahore and Islamabad

Pakistani schools run on parallel systems: the board route (Matric after Class 10, Intermediate after Class 12, examined by FBISE and the provincial BISEs), Cambridge O and A Levels, the Aga Khan University Examination Board, and a small IB sector of 33 authorised schools. The IBCC converts O Level to Matric and A Level to Intermediate on a fixed grade-to-marks scale, and every route can lead to MDCAT and ECAT. Here is how they compare, with the only 2026/27 fees the top schools actually publish.

Find the Perfect School for Your Child

Browse our comprehensive directory of international schools worldwide and find the right fit for your family.